William W. Heidbrink

Professor, Physics & Astronomy
School of Physical Sciences

PH.D., Princeton University,, 1984
B.A., University of California, San Diego, 1977

Phone: (949) 824-5398
Fax: (949) 824-2174
Email: wwheidbr@uci.edu

University of California, Irvine
4174 Frederick Reines Hall
Mail Code: 4575
Irvine, CA 92697
Research Interests
Experimental Plasma Physics
Academic Distinctions
American Physical Society Fellow, Lauds & Laurels Distinguished Teaching, Excellence in Plasma Physics Research
Research Abstract
Professor Heidbrink earned his B.A. degree from the University of California, San Diego in 1977. For the next two years he performed industrial research in pulsed power at Maxwell Laboratories. In 1984, he received his Ph.D. from Princeton University. After working as a staff member on the TFTR tokamak (Princeton) and the DIII-D tokamak (General Atomics), he joined the UCI Physics Department in 1988. He also has won the UCI "Lauds and Laurels" Distinguished Teaching Award and is a Fellow of the American Physical Society. In 2004, he received the Excellence in Plasma Physics Research award from the Americal Physical Society. Professor Heidbrink's research involves studies of "fast" ions in magnetized plasma. Follow the web link for information on current projects and for recent publications.
See research URL for recent publications. A few influential publications are listed here.
Burnup of Fusion-Produced Tritons and 3He Ions in PLT and PDX, W.W. Heidbrink et al., Nucl. Fusion 23 (1983) 917.
[Early study of the confinement of fusion products.]
Comparison of Experimental and Theoretical Fast-Ion Slowing-Down Times in DIII-D, W.W. Heidbrink et al., Nucl. Fusion 28 (1988) 1897. [First of several studies of fast-ion diffusion in phase space.]
An Investigation of Beam-Driven Alfven Instabilities in the DIII-D Tokamak, W.W.Heidbrink et al., Nucl. Fusion 31 (1991) 1635.
The Behavior of Fast Ions in Tokamak Experiments, W.W. Heidbrink, G.J. Sadler, Nucl. Fusion 34 (1994) 535.
[Summary Review Paper.]
Professional Society
American Physical Society, Division of Plasma Physics
Last updated